New bathroom install Q. - 4" PVC against joists.

Old 09-28-05, 09:10 AM
JetIgniter2k
Visiting Guest
New bathroom install Q. - 4" PVC against joists.

My house is a ranch with a huge unfinished attic. I would like to turn it into 600 square feet of livable space. Building a few walls, running electrical, drywall, flooring, etc. isn't really a big deal. But I would really like to have a second bathroom in the house. Again, not a big deal, I'm a general contractor with 5 years experience. But it seems i've hit a little snag with how to run the 4" PVC for the drain system. The only way to get it to the existing stack is to go aginst the 2x8 joists, about 15 joists to be exact. Thats a pretty big chunk of wood missing and a pretty big span. i could run the pipe to the closest 1st. floor closet and bury it in there, but that still means about 8 joists. And that would put a very anoying obsticle in the middle of my basement workshop.
Does anyone know of a way to reinforce the joists so i can run my 4" pipe to the existing stack?
Here's my theory, I'm not a structural engineer but i think it would be more than enough bracing. I start with an 8" tall x 24" long x 3/16" thick steel plate. Cut a 4" hole in the center of that; well not dead center, i still would have to take in account my 1/4"/ft. slope, but basicly where the pipe would fall on the joist. Then i drill ten holes, five on either side of my 4" hole, in an X pattern. Then place one of these plates on either side of the joist and sandwich it all together with ten 1/2" bolts (NOT lag screws). That would make a combined total of 3/8" x 4" piece of steel plus the 2x4 leftover wood around my pipe. BTW - making 30 of these plates isn't a big deal, I have a CNC plasma cutter capable of severing 1-1/4" steel. If you guys don't think thats enough, i could make the plates thicker or weld flat bars accross the top and bottom to make each plate channel bar and the sandwiched product ecentially an I-beam. Any thoughts?
Thanks,