Re-plumbing a whole house???

Old 10-14-05, 03:16 PM
tweeter21
Visiting Guest
Re-plumbing a whole house???

I am remodeling a 1950's home - adding a room and two bathrooms, dishwasher, extra sink, etc... Needless to say, I am having to replumb the whole house. As far as exterior plumbing - the kind with just PVC - I can do that no problem. The existing plumbing on the interior is all PVC - no copper or any metal. There is however a ceramic sewer drain and exhaust of which I will replace with PVC. Is it an absolute (really an ABSOLUTE) must to do the interior walls with copper. I am not good at it and would like to avoid it. By the way, I am not concerned with any codes - I live in a very rural area.

Old 10-14-05, 03:38 PM
pendoreilleskie
Visiting Guest
Originally Posted by tweeter21
I am remodeling a 1950's home - adding a room and two bathrooms, dishwasher, extra sink, etc... Needless to say, I am having to replumb the whole house. As far as exterior plumbing - the kind with just PVC - I can do that no problem. The existing plumbing on the interior is all PVC - no copper or any metal. There is however a ceramic sewer drain and exhaust of which I will replace with PVC. Is it an absolute (really an ABSOLUTE) must to do the interior walls with copper. I am not good at it and would like to avoid it. By the way, I am not concerned with any codes - I live in a very rural area.
probably you have already thought of this, but if you are insuring the house and down the road there is a problem with the water (i.e. a leak that does severe damage) you may want to do it to "code" ... or if you ever want to sell it the home inspector will want to see code ... I was having a simmilar dilemna on a remodel (smaller scale) ... perhaps you should look at using PEX as it sounds much easier than copper (no soldering just compression fittings).

Old 10-14-05, 03:39 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post