gas cooker


  #1  
Old 02-03-06, 02:03 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: wrexham
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Post gas cooker

My sister had just move into an upstairs flat. she has a gas cooker on the back wall, from the cooker runs a gas pipe 600mm from the floor. It then goes along 1meter then goes up the wall to the attic. Is there a certain distance the gas pipe should be from the cooker before it travels vertical up a wall. does it matter what wall the pipe runs down. Im asking cause the chap that had the flat was a diy bodge it man.
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-06, 02:39 PM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,813
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
As long as the pipe is correctly sized for the appliance, it doesn't matter. Undersizing will "starve" the appliance and it will not work properly. This also matters if there are other gas using appliances. Some DIYers forget to check before adding another unit to the existing gas line.
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-06, 02:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: wrexham
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ideal

do you know if ideal icos combi boilers have a pressure gauge. so you know what pressure your boiler is running at + what to top it up to.
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-06, 03:07 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
No, the appliance has no gauge.

The required pressure and input BTUs is on the nameplate.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-06, 05:22 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: wrexham
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
pressure

not the gas burner pressure ............. water pressure gauge
 
  #6  
Old 02-03-06, 07:04 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Okay, I see.

Please take it to the boiler forum.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: