Dishwasher Copper Pipe Install

Old 02-27-06, 01:34 PM
tbrass
Visiting Guest
Dish Washer Copper Line needs to be moved.

I have a current copper line that is on the opposite side of the where the new dish washer line need to go. I can not find the connection end to this copper pipe. It is behind the drywall. Should I try bending the copper pipe I am afraid that the pipe will kink if I bend it. Can I cut the pipe and add a braided flex supply? What are my best options.

I have no experience with Torches so I am trying to avoid it...

Old 02-27-06, 01:58 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Unless you have a basement, The copper line and a shut-off valve should be on the kitchen sink supply line. You MUST find where it ties in or you cannot move it due to not being able to shut the water supply off. (unless you shut off the whole house water). The DW copper is connected to the DW under the front of it. Remove the cover kick panel and you will see it. It is held on with a compression fitting. All you need to disconnect it is an adjustable wrench. Good luck.

Old 02-28-06, 07:29 AM
tbrass
Visiting Guest
Question Dishwasher Copper Pipe Install

MODERATOR NOTE: Removed this post as it was merged from another Forum topic thus making it a double post.

Last edited by majakdragon; 02-28-06 at 12:27 PM.
Old 02-28-06, 07:48 AM
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Opposite side of what? No, do not attempt to bend the pipe. It most likely will kink and then leak. You cannot make any mechanical (compression-type) connections inside the wall, or have any flex water connectors inside the wall. You can use soft copper ( comes in a roll, you can bend it carefully) with soldered fittings to get where you need to be.

Old 02-28-06, 11:00 AM
tbrass
Visiting Guest
Exclamation