Loss of Water Pressure -- On Well


  #1  
Old 04-15-06, 07:15 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Loss of Water Pressure -- On Well

Friends -- we've been in our home for 6 months, it was built in 1999, we're out in the country and have a well, and a water softener, as part of our system. Starting just a few days ago, we noticed a drop in water pressure. Now, upstairs we can't get any water into the bathrooms, and downstairs our reverse osmosis water filters are basically empty and don't draw for more than 5-10 seconds.

I've never dealt with these issues, nor have I ever lived in a home with a well. Can someone give me an idea as to where I should start to look to narrow the problem?

Thanks,
maury
 
  #2  
Old 04-15-06, 09:13 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,725
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Welcome, Maury.


> a water softener

Put it on bypass to rule out a problem with it.
It should have one or two valves that you turn.


> Starting just a few days ago, we noticed a drop in water pressure.


Is there also a filter (other than the RO system)?

Could be that you got sand and it clogged lots of things at once. Are you in a drought area?

Somewhere you have a pressure tank and a drain.
Shut off the valve on the house side of the tank.
Open the drain. See what you get.

If you have a submersible pump, perhaps it has gone bad.

If you have a jet pump or suction pump, is it running?
Do you have a pressure gauge?

You'll probably need to get a knowledgeable person to come explain your system to you and teach you how everything works and what needs to be maintained.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-06, 01:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
BOB -- THANKS FOR YOUR NOTE. A COUPLE OF THINGS BELOW.

> a water softener

Put it on bypass to rule out a problem with it.
It should have one or two valves that you turn.

LOOKS LIKE I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WHETHER IT IS GOING THROUGH WATER SOFTENER OR NOT. DID BYPASS AND PROBLEM IS THE SAME IN TERMS OF FLUCTUATING DROP AND RISE IN PRESSURE, BUT NO RECOVERY TO SAME PRESSURE BEFORE.

> Starting just a few days ago, we noticed a drop in water pressure.


Is there also a filter (other than the RO system)?

I AM CHECKING INTO THIS. I AM NOT AWARE OF ANY OTHER FILTER.

Could be that you got sand and it clogged lots of things at once. Are you in a drought area?

WE ARE IN A DROUGHT AREA AND I AM CHECKING WITH NEIGHBORS TO SEE IF THEY HAVE EXPERIENCED ANYTHING, ALTHOUGH I REALIZE THEY MAY BE AT DIFFERENT DEPTHS, ETC.

Somewhere you have a pressure tank and a drain.
Shut off the valve on the house side of the tank.
Open the drain. See what you get.

I TURNED OFF THE VALUE ON THE HOUSE SIDE AND OPENED THE DRAIN. IT CAME AT MEDIOCRE RATE, THEN IT RAPIDLY SLOWED TO A MUCH LOWER STREAM OF WATER. THAT WOULD SUGGEST IT MUST BE PUMP ISSUES, CORRECT?

THE ONLY PRESSURE GAUGE I CAN SEE IS THE ONE BETWEEN THE TANK AND THE WATER SOFTENER AND IT READS 20 PSI. WHEN I RAN WATER FOR A PERIOD AND CHECKED, I NEVER NOTICED THAT FLUCTUATE AT ALL -- WHICH IT SHOULD GO UP AND DOWN PERIODICALLY, CORRECT? WHEN RUNNING WATER.

I ASSUME I CALL SOMEONE TO LOOK AT THE PUMP, ETC.

I APPRECIATE YOUR THOUGHTS AND HELP ON THIS.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-06, 01:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry -- I said Bob but I don't think that's your name! Sorry about that.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-06, 03:03 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,725
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
> I AM CHECKING INTO THIS. I AM NOT AWARE OF ANY OTHER FILTER.

It's unlikely that any filter is ahead of the tank.

> I TURNED OFF THE VALUE ON THE HOUSE SIDE AND OPENED THE DRAIN.
> IT CAME AT MEDIOCRE RATE, THEN IT RAPIDLY SLOWED TO A MUCH LOWER
> STREAM OF WATER. THAT WOULD SUGGEST IT MUST BE PUMP ISSUES, CORRECT?

Yes.

> THE ONLY PRESSURE GAUGE I CAN SEE IS THE ONE BETWEEN THE TANK AND
> THE WATER SOFTENER AND IT READS 20 PSI.

That is too low.
Many submersibles have a pressure control that kicks out if it falls below 20 psi.
I'm not clear on the type of pump you have.


> WHEN I RAN WATER FOR A PERIOD AND CHECKED, I NEVER NOTICED THAT
> FLUCTUATE AT ALL -- WHICH IT SHOULD GO UP AND DOWN PERIODICALLY,
> CORRECT? WHEN RUNNING WATER.

A good gauge tells the story best.
If the pump is running continuously, it could be pretty steady.
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-06, 08:36 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well, we just now lost ALL water pressure and have no running water in our home. I suppose that confirms the well is either dry or the pump is dead.
 
  #7  
Old 04-16-06, 09:51 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,725
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
> I suppose that confirms the well is either dry or the pump is dead.

There are other possibilities such as a burst pipe, but those two probably cover 95% of the cases.

I hope that you can get someone to come quickly.


If it is a submersible, you need to learn how to restart it after low pressure drop out.

If it is a jet or suction pump, you need to know how to prime it -- and always keep two gallons or more of water handy for this purpose (bleach jugs are nice).


Do you know where the well is?
Where are the tank and pressure switch and any related apparatus?
 
  #8  
Old 04-17-06, 11:28 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Spent most of the Easter weekend trying to get someone out there and late this evening we had the pump replaced. It had, in fact, broken and had to be removed and a new one put in... after only 6 years. Turns out the original builder put in a less-than optimal pump, according to the folks I had out helping me get it fixed.

Wow... it is so nice to have water again!

Thank you so much for the help as I learned a ton now about how this system works, something we just take for granted day in and day out, but we certainly recognize when it crashes!
 
  #9  
Old 04-18-06, 01:13 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,725
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Glad to hear it is working now, Maury.


> Turns out the original builder put in a less-than optimal pump
No surprise.


> I learned a ton now about how this system works

You should write down as many notes as you can about what you learned: depths, distances, switches, pressures, testing procedures, etc.

Makes sure all your circuit breakers in your panels are correctly labeled.

You'll need to know again someday, but by then you will be foggy on the details.
Keep the new pump booklet and your notes in a logical place.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: