Outdoor faucet repair

Old 04-16-06, 04:40 PM
Outdoor faucet repair

Hi all, I am a newbie who is desperate to keep as much money in my pocket as possible, anyway......
I have an outdoor faucet (round handle, marked Nibco 1/2") approximately 21 years old. The initial problem was that you could not shut the water all the way off, now it has deteriorated to the point that you can barely control the water at all. I assume the washer inside is shot. I have attempted to separate the two parts of it to access the guts, but it is frozen. I have tried heat (propane) and wd-40. It looks like it is almost impossible to de-solder, push or pull the pipe away from the wall, cut it and resolder. Please help.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-16-06, 04:50 PM
lkrides, Welcome to the DIY Forums.
You will have to turn off a water valve inside the house or turn off the whole house water supply. Then turn the nut under the handle counterclockwise until it seperates from the threads. Then turn the handle and the stem should come out. The bad washer is on the end of the stem. Good luck.

Old 04-17-06, 06:08 AM
Hi Majakdragon, thanks for your quick reply. This thing is 21 years old, I don't think the stem can come out with out separating the two parts (which are frozen together). I'll take a second look. Any ideas on un-freezing the two parts of the faucet?

Old 04-17-06, 06:16 AM
I had a similar situation, couldn't get the old body off without tons of trouble and guts were frozen in there. What I did was to use 2 pipe wrenches to get the guts out then bought a new whole assembly, stripped the guts out of it and put them in the old body. It took a lot of muscle and tore up the nut on the old guts but that was ok because I was replacing it anyway.

Old 04-17-06, 06:28 AM
Replacement hose bibs are pretty cheap. If you can't get the bonnet off with a bigger wrench, just cut the pipe on the other side of the wall and install a new one. Just don't forget to shut the water off.