New bathroom sink install - water not draining properly

Old 03-21-07, 08:16 AM
Angry New bathroom sink install - water not draining properly

Hi,
I'm a plumbing novice who just installed a new vanity/sink. After running into a few roadblocks (i.e. didn't know I should replace copper piping with flex lines running directly to water source), I'm at a last problem that is driving me crazy.

The bottom of the drain pipe is higher, and more offset than my previous sink in relation to where the trap sits. So, I created a PVC link with a couple joints that make it travel the extra 6 or so inches to the trap. There are no leaks, EXCEPT, when I run the water for more than 10 seconds, it backs up and comes spewing out of the connection between the drain pipe and my new link. Either a) there's some problem with the angle/pressure that isn't allowing it to drain, b) my problem is that I only have the drain pipe resting in the PVC, because I'm not sure if I need to actually seal that connection or c) my install caused some sort of blockage in the pipe in the wall that didn't cause problems before.

Help?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-07, 09:33 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
"There are no leaks, EXCEPT, when I run the water for more than 10 seconds, it backs up and comes spewing out of the connection between the drain pipe and my new link."