need a 1.5 inch hole in concrete block wall

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-07, 05:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
need a 1.5 inch hole in concrete block wall

I'm rerouting my sump pump lines and need to drill a 1.5 inch hole in a concrete block. How do I do that? Are there 1.5 hole saws for concrete?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-07, 05:41 PM
notuboo's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 1,780
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rent a rotary spline hammer drill and a 2" drill bit. Either a Rigdid or Hilti will work great. 1 1/2" pipe needs a larger hole.

A little unit with a decent bit will have the job done in seconds.

good luck with your project...
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-07, 07:58 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
cement block or concrete?

If it is a block, is the block filled?

If not and you have some leeway as far as placing the hole. a simple hammer will do just fine.

You need to find the hollow of the block (as opposed to where the web is) and simply strike the block repeatedly in the same spot. Hold the hammer so it hits the block squarely. You don;t need to hit it real hard, just multiple times. After you have an initial hole (which will be the size of the anvil of the hammer, you can peck around this hole to make it large enough for your pipe.

Do the same thing on the other side of the block.
 
  #4  
Old 04-03-07, 06:03 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,078
Received 120 Votes on 107 Posts
Originally Posted by nap View Post
If not and you have some leeway as far as placing the hole. a simple hammer will do just fine.
An electrician buddy of mine does it that way all the time.

Another option would be to drill a series of smaller holes [regular drill and mason bit] and then knock or chisel out the remainder.
 
  #5  
Old 04-03-07, 09:14 AM
shacko's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Baltimore County Maryland
Posts: 2,138
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hole thru concrete block

Agree with marksr and nap, if you make a mistake it is not that hard to patch, I would not rent a hammer drill, overkill, lots of luck.

.................................................
"If all else fails, read the directions"
 
  #6  
Old 04-03-07, 04:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: United States
Posts: 2,535
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I'll use the drill/small bit method. A day's rental for hammer drill and 2" bit is $55.

Thanks for the suggestions!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: