gas leak detectors? useful or not

Old 05-22-07, 10:16 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question gas leak detectors? useful or not

landscaping people who removed a tree stump from my backyard cut a gas line. we did not smell anything,but I called the gas agency . they came & checked out - in their opinion it is a dead line. nothing to worry about. I am new in the house. I am not sure of where all gas lines are in my backyard. As aprecautionary measure , should I be doing in the future somthing regarding t he gas lines/ other utility line. The gas people said they cannot locate the lines which are inside the property. who should I call if I have to locate the lines? what will I detect if someone cut a gas line outdoors?

On the same note is there any gas leak detectors available? I have small children & I want to make sure the property is safe while I am away . Due to a medical condition I don't have best of the ability to smell.

Old 05-22-07, 02:15 PM
C
CSG
Sorry it took so long to reply.

Even if you had the best ability to smell...it isn't always easy.

Gas leak detectors can be expensive...i'd call and ask your gas company which they would recommend for the type of gas you have. They range from $200-$5000 depending on what you want the detector to pick up and how your gonna use it.

As far as locatin glines..that is a bit more difficult. You can check with the local municipality if they have anything in their files from when the house was built..blueprints, etc. Other then that nobody is going to know except the guy who put em in...and depnding on how long ago that was he may not remember.