sediment trap for gas


  #1  
Old 11-12-07, 07:46 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sediment trap for gas

I am piping from a 1" gas main to a manifold, then running 1/2" flex line to 3 appliances ,water heater ,kit stove ,heat stove .
Is it necessary to have a sediment trap?
Is it beneficial to have a sediment trap?
Do some appliances require it and not others, I have always seen it in water heater gas hookups
Thank You
Richard
 
  #2  
Old 11-12-07, 08:38 AM
shacko's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Baltimore County Maryland
Posts: 2,002
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Sediment trap

I don't think you will like my answer, where I work [NE] most gas appliances require a sediment trap [drip leg] at the point of connection. The part that you will hate is these requirments vary all over the US, you have to find out what they require where you live,sorry.
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-07, 04:42 PM
notuboo's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 1,699
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's a local code thing. As far as beneficial, it's a code requirement so it has to be beneficial

Your right, some appliances do require it and some don't.

Just call the local building department and ask a couple of questions. Not a big deal and you'll feel better knowing everything was done right.

Good luck with your project, more questions, ask in this thread and someone will answer you.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: