Installing shutoff valve

Old 11-18-07, 03:19 PM
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Installing shutoff valve

I am having a lot of problems with my kitchen. The electrical inspector says I have to install a light over the sink so people can see what they're doing. It's code. I don't have a problem with that. So I looked and looked, but could not find a cable behind the walls to hook a receptacle to. So I had to rip down more walls. Then I had to rip down the cabinets. To make a long story short, I found myself in a kitchen completely gutted except for the kitchen sink. I might as well remove the sink. But to do that, you have to shut the water off. And the previous owners had not bothered to provide shutoff valves for the sink.

So now, I have never done any plumbing except for unclogging toilets. I looked in my Home Depot renovations book and it shows your basic homeowner installing a shut off valve without any problems. It says even a complete novice can do it in an hour. Well guess what, I started this morning, the sun is starting to set, and there is water all over two levels of floor. I have the cold water pipe taped up to cut down on leaks, but the hot water pipe, I just don't know what to do. Every time I think the shutoff valve is on tight and it'sgoing to work, I turn the water on and the valve shoots into the sky and water gushes out all over the floor.

I'm done for the day. I can't take it anymore. If somebody can tell me what I am doing wrong... I am just following the instructions in the book and on the products I bought to do this job. The instructions look very simple, but they are not working for me.

Is there some way to just cap the pipes so water won't come shooting out? I don't need to use this kitchen, there is a functional one on the main floor. I do need water for the main floor and the rest of the house, so I can't just leave the water shut off.