Avoiding water damage from washing machine

Old 01-15-08, 10:03 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Avoiding water damage from washing machine

Newbie here. I have a front-loading washer (4 y/o) in my first floor laundry room. We are looking to finish our basement this year, and I'd like to take measures to prevent any water damage to the finished area below in the event a problem happens to the washer or its plumbing connection.

I have considered a drain pan for the washer, and although that should help somewhat, I am looking for a more complete solution to prevent water damage to the room below. I am thinking of some kind of floor drain, etc. The other issue is that the home builder extended the hard wood floor into our laundry room. Although it is nice flooring, I was thinking a less expensive flooring (laminate?) would be more water tight. Dunno why he did that, but it would seem water might leak through the floor seams eventually.

Anyway, I plan to have the laundry room drainage addressed when I get some estimates for the basement. I would appreciate any helpful feedback on what approaches I should look into. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-15-08, 01:59 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
All you can do won't ever be enough. But I added Flood Safe stainless steel braid supply lines to mine, just in case. I know it isn't fool proof, but should the line burst, it will shut off immediately. The pan is a good idea, and hopefully you will never need it. Install a single control shut off valve for your washer and use it after you are through washing clothes.

Old 01-15-08, 03:51 PM
Here the comments that go into our home inspection reports, these are "FYI" section items as these are conditions are not considered "defects":

Observation: (FYI) - Washing machines are connected to the supply plumbing via flexible hoses.