Can't get Kitchen Sink Unclogged. What's next?

Old 03-13-08, 09:32 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can't get Kitchen Sink Unclogged. What's next?

I've had this problem 6 months ago, and i fixed it with the ridgid powerspin snake I purchased. It's just not working this time.

Double kitchen sink. One side has disposal.
Was working fine. Didn't grind up anything significant in the disposal.
Water does not drain from either sink.
I take off the trap, use my powerspin until it runs out of the snake. I'm not an expert, but it seems like it at least "penetrates" everyting. I can't feel a blockage and the end of the snake comes back pretty clean.
I am hand cranking the powerspin. and I did put draino in it for a little while

I put the trap back on, and pour about 2-3 gallons of water in the sink until both sides of the sink start filling up.

BTW, all the toilets, showers, everything else, works perfectly. And the previous owner left draino, so I suspect this has been going on for a while.

Any ideas on how to proceed?

Old 03-13-08, 10:50 PM
K
Try a plunger? Impact pressure at the point of blockage is only limited by your upper body strength.

Maybe you have a combination of stuck partial obstruction (e.g. half a chopstick) + debris that hangs up on that.

A snake is really good for extracting objects. You can bend the corkscrew tip out to form a hook - this may grab something it otherwise bypasses.

Maybe there's a useful cleanout buried someplace you haven't noticed.

Old 03-14-08, 05:25 AM
C
A litle more info. There was about 2 inches of water in both sinks last night. Overnight it drained. Of course putting 2 gals of water or so in the sink filled it back up.

So I guess I don't have a complete clog......but it still not useable like that.

Old 03-14-08, 05:29 AM
C
Originally Posted by Kobuchi
Try a plunger? Impact pressure at the point of blockage is only limited by your upper body strength.