Washing Machine with Horizontal Drain above it?

Old 01-28-09, 11:51 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Washing Machine with Horizontal Drain above it?

Hi all - I'm a complete newbie when in comes to plumbing. I've just bought my first house (build in mid-50s I'd guess, in northern NJ) and have a laundry question I hope someone can help with.

The laundry area is in the basement of the house. The hot and cold water hook-ups seem normal (to me anyway) and the previous owners left the houses attached. I have a brand new front-loading washing machine.

However, the drain pipe is not in the floor of the foundation. Its about 5 feet up and coming horizontally out of the wall. It's a 5-6" iron (I'm guessing) pipe that reduces down quickly to two short sections of 1" copper pipe. Between the two sections there appears to be a trap installed. Also, the entire drain pipe on the inside has a slight down angle leading outside (and underground).

My question is if a washing machine (with it's rubber drain hose at about 3 feet) will drain "up" to the drain pipe at 5 feet? This seems unlikely to me...

Also:
- Would a maching machine typically drain based on gravity, or is the water "pushed" out via the spin cycle?

- Can I connect a rubber drain hose to a copper pipe with tape and clamps? Or is there a better hose I can put on my washing machine?

Any and all help would be appreciated! And thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-28-09, 12:58 PM
Hi cmacdon3-

I donít have plumbing expertise. I installed a washing machine in my motherís house and then also my house. In those cases , which I believe is typical, there is a vertical pipe in the laundry area called a standpipe. I think these are somewhere about 3-4 feet high. You hang your washer drain hose on the standpipe pipe.