Can all PVC elbows can be used for drains or are some for vent only?

Old 07-25-09, 11:28 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can all PVC elbows can be used for drains or are some for vent only?

It seems that there are three styles of 90-degree elbows -- vent, long sweep, and "regular". Can anybody clarify which of these can or can't be used for drain lines?

I'm putting in a utility sink drain with 1-1/2" PVC pipe. I have a very compact 90-degree elbow fitting which I would like to use because of limited space, but I think this kind of fitting is called a vent ell. Does this name mean that it is only for vent lines and not for drain? This fitting will be horizontal on both ends if that makes any difference.

It almost seems obvious that something called a vent ell is for vents only, but I also have a PVC trap assembly that contains a 90-degree bend that is about as sharp as the vent ell.

Last edited by bajinnova; 07-25-09 at 12:03 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 07-25-09, 12:57 PM
I just found this on another forum:

Long turn 90's to go from horizontal to horizontal.
Long turn 90's to go from vertical to horizontal.
And medium turn 90's to go from horizontal to vertical.

Can anybody verify that this is correct, and if so that these rules apply even on a short pipe draining a single fixture (vs. a common drain line inside the wall)?

I'm getting the feeling that this is more complicated than I realized and the staff at my local stores aren't much help, so here is the whole situation if any experts would be so kind as to advise:

Short version:
How do I drain a utility sink into a drain rough-in coming out of the wall about 2' to the right of the sink? Ideally the drain pipe will be within 4.5" of the wall so it can go behind the legs of the sink (which is why I'm reluctant to use the long sweep ells if I don't have to). The sink drain is centered 7.5" from the wall.

Details: