Whole house replumbing. What should I use?

Old 05-23-10, 03:01 PM
M
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Whole house replumbing. What should I use?

Just had a water leak in attic. Destroyed the ceiling in one room and caused water damage in a couple others before it was detected.

Turns out the water lines run through the attic. I don't know if this is normal or not, but others acted surprised by it. I'm an electrician, not a plumber, though I've sweated my fair share of copper.

The neighbors have been telling me that this neighborhood (build in mid-80s) has seen lots of these leaks and that the type of plastic used was long ago taken off the market and there were class action law suits about it. We just bought the place in November, so I'm pretty sure we are on our own.

I know the rest of the house is just waiting for a good opportunity to leak in a more critical place at a more critical time, so I'm planning to replumb the entire house.

As an electrician, I know how to fish somewhat flexible things down walls. I also know how to use most tools, and am always looking for excuses to buy new tools anyway.

I'm guessing there is still a plastic on the market that is superior to work with and cost-effective, and noted for reliability. Or should I still be considering copper?

Can the experts direct me to what I need to know? Thanks!

Old 05-23-10, 03:35 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 357 Upvotes on 319 Posts
While copper is the old standby, you'll probably get most recommendations to use CPVC or PEX. CPVC is cut and cemented similar to PVC drain pipes (but is made so that it can withstand hot water which PVC can't). It's easy to install.

PEX is a bit newer and requires a specialized crimp tool. There are a couple threads on this forum that discuss the better/not-so-good brands of PEX fittings. PEX is easy since it's flexible, is usually run straight from the main line with no fittings until it hits the fixture. You'd fish it just like Romex

Old 05-23-10, 08:10 PM
S