gas line pressure test

Old 06-20-10, 02:22 AM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
gas line pressure test

hi guys,

a gas fitter just installed a gas line in our home for a range and bbq. He pumped up the line to 15psi of AIR last night. Tonight i went to check the gauge and it was at 10psi. It held the 15psi pressure for a couple of hours so I am not sure if I have a leak somewhere or if its due to temperature variation. Have you guys had this happen to you?

The inspectors in my city only perform a 15min test with 15psi and make sure it holds pressure. It will pass inspection but I am concerned that there might be a leak. Our gas line pressure is just under 2psi. I don't have a pressure pump so I will see if it drops below 10psi tomorrow. It it does I am thinking i do have a leak somewhere.

Sorry guys, I am just a noob. Look forward to hearing from yall.

Old 06-20-10, 10:59 AM
Gas Test

>>>a gas fitter just installed a gas line in our home for a range and bbq. He pumped up the line to 15psi of AIR last night. Tonight i went to check the gauge and it was at 10psi. It held the 15psi pressure for a couple of hours so I am not sure if I have a leak somewhere or if its due to temperature variation. Have you guys had this happen to you

Old 06-20-10, 03:22 PM
E
Thats a common problem if you charge the line when the outside tempeature is 80 or so and it starts to drop as the sun goes down, I don't think you have any problem.

Thats why I liked the old mercury gauges (they don't allow them anymore) they will tell you instantly when you hook them up if you have a leak. [/QUOTE]

Thanks for the feedback on this. I checked again and its now at 9psi. Can the temperature really cause this much of a pressure variation?

Old 06-20-10, 03:58 PM
F
Received 37 Upvotes on 29 Posts