broken pipe(from freezing) in empty home purchase

Old 12-12-10, 06:42 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

this is my first post on this forum and i am sure there will be many more!

I am buying a HUD home. it has been sitting empy since april. after the inspection in september the house was not properly winterized-apparently it is my fault. the heat and water were turned on this week for an appraisal and a pipe on the second floor in the wall beneath the bathroom started leaking heavily. the water poured out on the second floor through a lighting fixture and through the first floor into the basement. the main water line was turned off a few minutes after this. the lines were drained and antifreeze was added to the toilets, bath, etc.

i have no experience with plumbing and this will be my first house. if i still decide to close next week.

with freezing pipes in an empty house what else can be expected? will it typically break in one place or many?

i am trying to decide if this is a deal breaker for buying the home.

Old 12-12-10, 08:59 AM
K

I used to have a summer cottage that had no heat, so I am familiar with your problem. Once you turn the heat on if you only have one leak then that is all there is. There is a clamp type repair that is effective and cheap that can be used for copper pipes anyway. I am not sure about galvanized but I suspect that the clamp will work as well. Of course you will need to expose the pipe and have room around it to fit the clamp. (You will need at least 1/2 inch behind and 4 to 6 inches of room for the clamp. Older houses that had no heat often had water piping designed to drain. All the plumbing would drain from a specific low spot. Otherwise you will need to drain all low areas before shutting off the heat. As far as a deal breaker, that is up to you. Once repaired, it shouldn't happen again unless you turn the heat off without draining the pipes.

Old 12-12-10, 10:43 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation