Do I need to replace my main line?

Old 02-15-11, 08:20 PM
J
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do I need to replace my main line?

I searched through a bunch of threads on main sewage lines, but I couldn't find anything like my situation.

I don't plan on doing this myself--just more interested to hear third party opinions on whether or not I'm being taken.

Long story short, I've had root intrusion issues a couple of times over the last 5 years, and each time I've been more willing to pay the nominal cost of having the main line snaked than having it replaced. Tonight, however, I saw a 100' snake run to the street 4 times, at first pulling out roots, then nothing, and the line is still not draining. It was explained to me that dirt is likely filling in the pipe and that it needs to be replaced, but that doesn't seem likely to me. Then again, I'm not an expert.

Any opinions?

Old 02-15-11, 08:35 PM
Super Moderator
Received 78 Likes on 70 Posts
They should have offered to camera the line. How do they know whats down there. Roots can be cut and when first done should of been treated with root x. If its only a section of pipe that has the root issue just that section can be replaced and a whole sewer is not needed. Most times the plumbers are not using a big head on the end of the snake. All they may be doing is punching a small hole in the clogg and when they pull the snake out the clogg closes up again.

Be careful before you throw money at a total replacement.

I would say your line is cast iron?

Mike NJ

Old 02-15-11, 08:46 PM
J
Thanks, Mike. They actually used a few different heads, one of which was a large blade.

The hose was built in '44, and I think it is cast iron, yes.

Old 02-15-11, 09:18 PM
Super Moderator
Received 78 Likes on 70 Posts
Blades are not cutting bits.

See the bits on this page for root cutting.