Shower faucet won't turn off and doesn't stop turning

Old 04-20-11, 07:34 AM
Shower faucet won't turn off and doesn't stop turning

My hot water shower faucet won't turn off. When I attempt to turn it off the knob never stops turning. As you're turning the knob to turn the water off the water pressure becomes lower until it gets to a point where you hear a click and then the water pressure increases again. If you continue to turn it the same thing repeats (water pressure gets lower, click, then suddenly increases). If I turn it to the point where the water coming out is at the lowest pressure I can get it to and then use my hand to push the knob in and hold it, the water will stop flowing but as soon as I release the pressure it starts flowing again.

Is this something that I have to go behind the faucet to repair or can this be fixed from the outside? And how would I go about it? I'm a complete novice when it comes to plumbing but I can follow directions.

Here are pics of the faucet with the hot water knob removed. It's a Kohler. Faucet Pics

Sponsored Links
Old 04-20-11, 08:35 AM
The shower

From what you describe, it sounds like the threads are stripped hopefully on the faucet stem. If indeed that's the case, you have to buy a new stem. Try a local hdw store, some of them are very helpfull. Actually you will have to get the stem out so you can match it up, unless you still have the paperwork. If you're so inclined, you have to shut off the supply, and unscrew the nut that is around the stem, it is easiestly done with a socket, probably a deep one. Hdw stores sell sets of wrenches for that. Good luck.
Sid

Old 04-20-11, 08:51 AM
Sounds like that might be it. Just wanted to add that when I turn the stem directly (that is with the knob off) I get the same behavior. And I forgot to mention that in the ON direction the knob does come to a stop if you turn it all the way. It's only in the OFF direction where it doesn't stop turning.

Old 04-20-11, 09:09 AM