Washer/Laundry Tub plumbing.

Old 06-28-11, 02:56 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Washer/Laundry Tub plumbing.

I currently have a laundry tub set up in my basement laundry room. The previous owners just drained the washer directly into the laundry tub. I am looking for a cleaner, more finished look. Next to the sink drain, there are two older drains that have been capped. I am new to plumbing, so I am looking for the easiest method for a beginner(If possible) Would the best method be to tee off the sink drain and use the same drain for both. Or could I open up one of the older drains, install a stand pipe from the drain, which would then go in between the studs and up to one of those recessed laundry boxes? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks

Ryan

Old 06-28-11, 03:03 PM
Super Moderator
Received 78 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Hi.

It depends on what goes into those capped lines. Venting is always an issue. Wheer does the sink drain tie into now?

Pics always help.

Mike NJ

Old 06-28-11, 08:13 PM
R
The only plumbing in this room is the sink drain, the 2 capped drains, and a standard floor drain in the middle of the room. All of the plumbing goes under the concrete slab so I don't know exactly where it might hook up to. There is a stack of plumbing not too far away from this room that goes from floor to ceiling and branches onto the main floor. Here are some pics of the drains...

Old 06-28-11, 09:00 PM
Super Moderator
Hi.

I am certain those two caps in the floor is a whole house trap. Pretty much dont touch it. Thats where you will most likely get a clogg if you put the wrong things down your drains. That is old plumbing but some towns still require them. Some let you remove them. You can hook nothing to those caps.