Copper pipe sizing in heating loop

Old 10-12-11, 02:54 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Copper pipe sizing in heating loop

Hi all, I'm a newbie on the forum here with (hopefully) an easy question for someone with more experience. In 1 zone of my house (Oil fired, hot water) there are still older style heaters . They are essentially the same as the baseboards seen everywhere today in that there is a pipe (or 2) covered in fins running through the bottom of the unit then heading back down into the basement. The exception here is that the pipe(s) running through the unit are 1/2 inch branch lines off of the main 1-1/2" line in the basement. I'd like to add newer style baseboards to 2 of the 5 units on that zone and am wondering if the 3/4" line on the newer units will affect the water flow in that zone thereby reducing it's effectiveness in all of the units. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

In addition, if you feel this post is in the wrong section please do let me know so I can correct it.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-11, 04:42 PM
Sounds like you may have a monoflo system. You will need to use monoflor tess if you add more branches from the main loop.

Why are you adding more baseboard? There may be another solution to your problem.

Old 10-12-11, 04:52 PM
Super Moderator
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Why go through all the trouble to change the pipe size and tees.

Just get baseboard covers and keep the element.

Or if the elements are banged up pretty bad then just get 1/2" baseboard.

Here is a data sheet and example of slant fin. 3/4" vs 1/2" is the same.

http://slantfin.com/images/stories/P...ne15_15_10.pdf

Mike NJ

Old 10-13-11, 04:59 AM