Putting a Tee in a black natural gas line

Old 09-03-12, 09:23 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Putting a Tee in a black natural gas line

I'm new to the forum and new to gas in the house. I just had a gas furnace installed. As my appliances need replacement I plan on replaceing them with gas models, now they are electric. I've worked with a plumber installing plastic, copper and gas lines in new construction so installing pipe is not the problem. Also I'm a retired GM electrician.
Now my question? When they installed the furnance they used 1" pipe from the meter to the furnance, a 15 ft run. 8ft from the meter they put a 1" tee for future use and another 1" tee at the furnance also. The water heater will most likely be replaced first and I would like to put a tankless unit in. The tankless unit will be 26ft from the tee or 38ft from the meter. With the tankless unit, furnance and future stove, fireplace and dryer, after checking charts, the 1" line will most likely be undersized. From what I've been reading it's all about volumne. Can I increase the size of the pipe at the tee, 8ft from the meter, to 1 1/4" it increase the volumne or do I have to go back to the meter? Thanks

Old 09-03-12, 10:49 AM
Super Moderator
Received 84 Upvotes on 76 Posts
Whats the distance of the furthest gas applince you will have from the meter?

Currenty @ 15 ft of 1 inch you can supply 570k btu's. I dont think you will need more then that. But we need to know what the farthest appliance will be.

Old 09-03-12, 11:21 AM
S
The furthest gas appliance will be the dryer at 42 ft.

Old 09-03-12, 11:33 AM
Super Moderator
For giggles lets say 50ft to be safe.

@ 50ft for the longest appliance you can supply 285k btu.

Add up all your appliances. Whats the total btu?

Note: @ 40 ft total is 320k btu

Old 09-03-12, 11:45 AM
S