I need some advice please...

Old 04-07-13, 08:20 PM
I need some advice please...

This is my first time posting here, I really don't know where else to turn too. First off I appreciate any advise you are able to give, here is my situation:

We moved into our house unaware of any plumbing issues, only later we discovered a few plumbing problems (We've found about 3 so far, hooray for us!) we have fixed 2 of them already but one that has been sitting for a while has us stumped.

Please bear with the long description it is necessary and I apologize in advance.

Our front yard contains the problem, we have a half circle concrete driveway with grass on alternate sides of it. The previous "occupant" of our home seems to have installed their own sprinkler system running the white plastic pipe beneath the concrete. This may have been a fantastic idea however he decided to connect the pipe somehow (we're not sure how) to our incoming line from the city main (I hope that makes sense as I am not a plumber). We thought nothing of this as our water has never had any problems nor ever tasted funny. He has also left us a nice rectangle cutout in the concrete (I assume this was for the sprinkler shutoff?) in the driveway which has become overgrown with various vegetation/moss. This rectangle cutout has been our only clue as to what he has done. I have yet to find the courage to explore this hole, however we have filled this hole with sand and covered it with a piece of sheet metal in hopes the vegetation would die from lack of sun exposure and so we can drive over it without taking a pothole to the tire.