redundant vent and wet vent

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-05-13, 08:26 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
redundant vent and wet vent

Two questions here as shown in the drawing:

1. Want to remove the red vent to hide pipes and thinking that vent is redundant. is it ok?
2. is that wet vent valid?

thanks,
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-05-13, 08:57 AM
M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 428
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The vent must be more than two pipe diameters (ID) from the weir. The vent must also be no farther away from the weir than a specific amount.

With a 1.5" pipe, the vent must be within 3'6". Local code may vary.
a 2" pipe allows for Five Feet, but I don't think you are allowed to do that with the Trap being only 1.5"

Here is a nice handout to explain a particular local code.
http://www.klickitatcounty.org/build...andout0411.pdf

From my limited knowledge, the wet vent is not to code, but I'm sure an actual plumber will chime in soon.
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-13, 10:07 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how about this: add a separated vent for the basement sink.
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 08-05-13, 10:12 AM
M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 428
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think that is ok. Wait for someone who actually knows something about plumbing to respond.
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-13, 10:33 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The blue vent may need to go up to first floor and 6" higher than the bath then join the existing vent. That will be too difficulty to do.
 
  #6  
Old 08-05-13, 10:39 AM
M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 428
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AAVs might be a solution. However, that is NOT the best solution and is more likely to violate local code. I've been delaying even mentioning that as a solution in the hopes that someone smarter would come along and give you a workable and correct solution instead.
 
  #7  
Old 08-05-13, 10:55 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what's the AAVs? can tell me more?
 
  #8  
Old 08-05-13, 12:04 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
you need to clarify your pic... We need to know what drains into what... Show all fixtures and vents/stacks through roof.

Yes you have a wet vent... Not allowed... Downstairs sink not vented as stated...

You should not remove that marked in red, but the vent coming off the stack is odd...

Again give us a better drawing...
 
  #9  
Old 08-05-13, 12:18 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That all fixtures, one bath tub in first floor and one sink on basement, in that area connect to that vent and that main stack.

That vent goes up to attic and that main stack goes down to the ground.

This wet vent is no good because the fixtures are in different floor?

The vent coming off the stack is odd. So remove it is ok?
 
  #10  
Old 08-05-13, 12:28 PM
M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 428
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you saying that there are no other fixtures in those rooms? Lawrosa wants to know how the sinks, tubs, toilets, etc. all hook up to that stack and vent.

The wet vent is no good because wet vents are not to code; no matter where they are.

Edit: A wet vent basically turns your P-trap into an S-trap (sadly, I still have some in my house that I'm working on). This allows water to be siphoned from the trap and let sewer gasses enter the house.
 
  #11  
Old 08-05-13, 12:28 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
wheres the toilet and sink vent too?

Yes wet vent because different floors and downstairs sink has none... Its using the stack as a vent... But upstairs drains into it...hence "wet vent"....

Like this.

Name:  vent.jpg
Views: 864
Size:  9.4 KB
 
  #12  
Old 08-05-13, 12:43 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no more fixtures connect to this stack and vent. First floor toilet and basement toilet are connected to another main stack goes to ground directly with their own vent goes up to the attic at another cornor of the room.

Yes, I understand the wet vent is invalid now.

The new vent for the basement sink has to be 36" above the tub. That is a really bad news to me because I have to drill floor and remove wall. No alternative?
 
  #13  
Old 08-05-13, 12:48 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
The vent for the sink either needs to tie into an existing vent 36" above the fixture or just run the vent in the attic and out... or tie back into the stach up there.

The other alternative is to tie the tub into the downstairs sink, but you still need to get a vent from down there up to the attic or roof... But only if the down sink line is 2"... You show 1 1/2"....
 
  #14  
Old 08-05-13, 12:58 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"
The other alternative is to tie the tub into the downstairs sink, but you still need to get a vent from down there up to the attic or roof... But only if the down sink line is 2"... You show 1 1/2"....

"

The the sink line to 2" can be done easily. What's you mean about "tie the tub into the downstairs sink"?

no way to just connect to that existing vent without drill floor and break wall?
 
  #15  
Old 08-05-13, 02:13 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
find a closet.... Run the vent up along the stack...
 
  #16  
Old 08-05-13, 07:34 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Mike,

Can you tell me why the option A is not good?

Thanks,
 
Attached Images   
  #17  
Old 08-05-13, 09:28 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
does the 3" stack go all the way to the roof?

does anything drain in the stack from above the tub connection?

I think if they put the vent on the arm of the tub its there for a reason... Probably past the footage code requires....Red vent in your post #3 pick...

But I would have to read up on that.... I see no issue with option A, The stack would be the vent for the tub and that 1 1/2 vent off the stack would not be needed IMO...
 
  #18  
Old 08-06-13, 05:18 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3" stack ended at the basement and then 1-1/2" vent connected to it at the top. The vent goes all the way to the attic and connect to main vent to the roof. The house is one floor house. No other drain connect to the stack and vent.

My guess is they try to use the 3" stack as the wet vent for the basement sink that is why they connect the vent to the top of the stack.
 
  #19  
Old 08-06-13, 08:25 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
Option a is fine from what I see.....

You can glance through the codes that I have a link to in a sticky at the top of this forum...

Type in venting and look to see if you need to vent that tub arm because of the ft....


http://www.doityourself.com/forum/pl...ing-codes.html
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: