Bathroom sink - Low Cold Pressure

Old 10-08-13, 09:25 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bathroom sink - Low Cold Pressure

Complete Newbie Here:

Symptom: Low pressure on two handled bathroom sink. Kohler.

-Removed and cleaned Aerator. Hot water was significantly better after that. No difference with cold.

-Disconnected hose that runs from cold water shut off to underside of faucet. Pressure very good!

-Read that a good next step is to remove faucet handle and attempt to purge the line. (1) Is this true? (2) If so, I am stumped at how to remove the handle. After prying off the cosmetic cap, there is a threaded hole. I can't see or feel anything at the bottom of this tiny, long threaded hole. I have no idea how to loosen/remove the handle, and I sure don't want to strip anything.

Photos attached.

Any advice much appreciated!

Gavin

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 10-08-13, 09:47 AM
Super Moderator
Received 59 Votes on 51 Posts
Read that a good next step is to remove faucet handle and attempt to purge the line. (1) Is this true?
Yes that is true...

If so, I am stumped at how to remove the handle. After prying off the cosmetic cap, there is a threaded hole. I can't see or feel anything at the bottom of this tiny, long threaded hole. I have no idea how to loosen/remove the handle, and I sure don't want to strip anything.
There should have been a screw. If handle does not pull off you mau need a handle puller. You can try to gently pry from behind...

Has this always been this way with the low pressure?

What types of pipes do you have? If steel pipe/galvanized that may be your issue. They clog up over time....

Old 10-08-13, 09:51 AM
G
update

Quick Update:

Found allen screw on side of handle and am now looking at this:

Also, while the sink is labeled Kohler I have determined (with the help of a Kohler rep) that it is a Newport Brass faucet.

Attached Images  
Old 10-08-13, 09:53 AM
Super Moderator