Clogged kitchen sink - trap pipe wont come off

Old 10-10-13, 01:03 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Clogged kitchen sink - trap pipe wont come off

I'm renting an apartment month to month and the kitchen sink was draining slowly up until recently when it stopped draining completely. I've tried plunging and I've tried drain-o (which I later found out was a big no-no). I thought I could just fix it myself quickly by removing the trap myself when I realized only one piece came off easily. I've never done this before, so maybe I'm missing something? The piece that came off had a nut that I could unscrew with gloves on, but I imagine the other side should do the same? Is there any way I could remove this myself? Or should I just ask my landlord to hire a plumber? Thanks!

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 10-10-13, 01:07 PM
Super Moderator
Received 59 Votes on 51 Posts
Probably best to have landlord fix. That trap is glued and needs to be cut. Best to replace with regular P trap. Line probably needs to be snaked too.....

Old 10-10-13, 01:37 PM
Best, Cheapest Gizmo for cleaning out clogged drains

Years ago while in a local hardware store, I found a $4 item that will clean out any drain in a minute or two.

I don't have a picture to post at the moment, so I'll describe it to you.
It is a single piece of thin plastic about 20-24" long and is thin. It's about 1/4"-3/8" wide and only about 1/8" thick. This allows for its flexibility. When facing its width, both sides of this plastic "stick" have barbs, facing upward along the length of it that are part of its mold. It is designed to be fed down the drain from the sink. It has a loop molded into the upper end that serves as a handle so that you can push and pull on it. When you push it down the drain, it moves relatively smoothly. When you, then, pull it up, the barbs grab hair, and gook and bring it up into the sink.