Capping Dishwasher Line

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-30-13, 06:17 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Capping Dishwasher Line

Hello everybody,

I recently bought a home and the homeowner took his dishwasher. He did cap the water supply line, but it is leaking. I currently have bowl under it to catch the water. My wife and I decided that we aren't buying a dishwasher and plan on making the hole much needed storage space.

My question is, how do I cap the supply line properly so it doesn't leak (there is no shut off specifically for the supply line) until I can get someone in who can properly get rid of the supply line.

Second question is, when I turn off the water at the main supply line, do I need to drain the hot water heater temporarily while i fix this?

Thanks for reading and hopefully helping!!

Jeremy
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-30-13, 06:26 AM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need a picture of what you have to see how they capped it.
If it's capped and you can get it to stop leaking there's no need to do anything else to it.
There has to be a shut off on both supply's, something to put on your to do list.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-13, 07:40 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,803
Received 495 Votes on 455 Posts
Yes, a picture of what you have is needed so we can see what you are trying to cap.

You do not need to do anything with your water heater when you shut off the water. You do need to turn off the power or turn off the flame when you drain the heater.
 
  #4  
Old 10-30-13, 09:42 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Picture

Name:  IMG953456.jpg
Views: 1709
Size:  28.0 KB

Here is what I'm working with - the bottom copper line with the silver cap is where it's leaking.

Thanks,

Jeremy
 
  #5  
Old 10-30-13, 09:56 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
Turn the water off to the home and cut that pipe coming from the tee leaving about 2". Then solder a 1/2" cap on or use a push on shark bite connector...





 
  #6  
Old 10-30-13, 10:05 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,144
Received 85 Votes on 80 Posts
I think the best/easiest way to cap it would be to buy a 1/2" SharkBite cap. Cut the pipe back an inch or two from the wall and slide that cap on. It's permanent enough, but if you or a future homeowner want to reuse it, it can be removed.

Just shut off your main water supply and open the faucet in the sink to relieve pressure. When you take off that cap, have a bucket ready.

Oh, I would also suggest not just reusing that cap. It looks like a steel cap which could cause corrosion with the copper, ending up in more of a leak down the road.
 
  #7  
Old 10-30-13, 04:31 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
While a cap would work, why would they do that when they could install a 5/8 X 3/8 compression shut off?
That way they would now have the needed shut off, it's not going to leak, and no one would have to deal with shutting off the main water supply again?
 
  #8  
Old 10-30-13, 05:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Off topic but aren't "S" traps now persona non grata.
 
  #9  
Old 10-30-13, 05:48 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,139
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
Off topic but aren't "S" traps now persona non grata.
Grandfathered.........................
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: