RO System install to fridge

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-12-14, 12:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RO System install to fridge

Hey guys, so I have a house that was built in 2013 and am trying to install and RO system, the install seems pretty easy and self explanatory as there are plenty of diagrams online except on one thing, I also want to have the ro system feed water to my fridge for ice cubes.

What I am unsure of is how do i connect my ro filter to my fridge line if the kitchen sink is on a island. Out on the wall i see there is a loop that goes back in, am I safe to say that this line goes directly to the fridge?

Ive included pictures so you guys can get a better feel for this. Thanks

















 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-12-14, 07:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,457
Received 215 Votes on 204 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I snagged one of your pics. That is a water supply box and valve. Usually the house water service gets connected there as one of the supply points (just like a toilet). That would mean ... that line probably does not appear under your sink...... or in at least a manor in which you could connect the RO supply to it.

To verify for sure..... do any of those valves under the sink turn off the water supply to the fridge and ice maker ?

Name:  ice.jpg
Views: 3143
Size:  17.1 KB
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-14, 08:25 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My question is why would you think you need to have R/O water to just make ice cubes?
A simple activated charcoal filter that's most likely already on the fridge would be more then enough.
 
  #4  
Old 02-13-14, 06:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,566
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
It does look like your sink cold line comes out of the wall then back in, so this could go to the fridge, but I'm not sure why it would and why there wouldn't be a shutoff there. So really, I have no idea. I assume you're on a slab so can't trace the pipes under the floor?

You'd have to cut/disconnect those cold water pipes and temporarily cap them to see what's actually going on. Maybe someone else has seen a similar setup...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes