How to Replumb a House?????

Old 03-03-14, 09:52 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to Replumb a House?????

Hello Everybody! So my grandmother needs her whole house replumbed but doesn't have the funds. So as the only grandson I'm automatically volunteered. I have basic knowledge of plumbing. But I have no idea how to replumb a whole house. I know we will be running PVC/CPVC. She has a septic. I'm kindly of confused on certain things. Like how do I go from the main water supply to inside the house. Then what is the first thing I run to. What size piping should I use. What rooms do I do first. What about the water heater. I know I can do the the work I just don't have all the knowledge. So basically what I need is directions on how to replumb an entire house. I'm not sure if this has already been asked or not.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-03-14, 10:11 AM
Super Moderator
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
Hello and welcome...

Being in florida you do not have a basement or crawl?

IMO your best off using pex pipe. Manifolds would be easy but I often run a trunk line down the center of the home and branch off from there..

Old 03-03-14, 12:35 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the reason I don't want to use PEX is because you need the crimping tool that is expensive and don't have and would only use once.

Old 03-03-14, 01:25 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
The tool isn't that expensive (check ebay and Amazon)...and can easily be resold when you are done. The benefits and speed of installation of PEX far outweigh the relatively minor cost of the tool.

PVC and CPVC aren't flexible and are a lot more trouble to work with...esp when you are trying to maneuver them around in an attic or crawl.

I don't think any of the experts here would ever go back to rigid plastic pipe except for repairs in a compatible system.

Old 03-03-14, 01:27 PM
A
Received 67 Votes on 61 Posts