Best, simplest and cheapest way to replace pipe?

Old 05-04-14, 11:59 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Best, simplest and cheapest way to replace pipe?

Name:  Pipe.jpg
Views: 556
Size:  18.2 KB

Hi,

The photo above is of a drain pipe. The pipe is low volume so much so that I intend to reduce it and bury it.

My problem is that the pipe has an elbow attached to it. I would like to remove the elbow leaving the original pipe onto which I would stick a new elbow. The problem I have is that the product used to glue the two items together is called Tangit and I am told that this cannot be undone.

If anyone has any ideas on who to best approach the problem please let me know. I am not very technical in these things.

Thanks,
Alan

Below is what I've been told and areas of research. I've placed them down here so as to avoid a lengthy question.

I found a couple of videos on youTube describing how one can break them apart effectively heating the inner pipe and then ripping it out with a long nose pliers. The challenge using this method are:
  1. The pip is positioned horizonally not vertically
  2. I am told that pipe cement and Tangit are diferent products.

Someone suggested I open up the area and cut where the elbow is inserted over the pipe. Anyway the new elbow must be placed further in. This sounds very plausible but is there a tool (based on a hacksaw) that allows me to do this without having to break a massive portion of the wall?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-05-14, 02:53 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Can you not just cut the vertical pipe to within 2" of the elbow and attach a coupling and new pipe? You probably won't be able to take any of this apart. Is this your condensate drain?

Old 05-05-14, 06:51 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 84 Votes on 79 Posts
I wouldn't try to undo any of the connections. Typically a solvent is used, which basically fuses the plastic. It's not like a glue that could be loosened.