HDPE Compressoin fitting - how tight?

Old 05-08-14, 02:20 PM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question HDPE Compressoin fitting - how tight?

I am new to installing plumbing, and got some advice from a plumber that sounds questionable, so I thought I would ask you guys what you think.

I'm installing a new water line from the tap in the street to my crawl space 30ft away, to supply the whole house. I went to the guy who installed all the water stubs for the town when they put the road in, as he's apparently the only guy in town who sells the fitting I need to hook up to it.

He sold me 3/4" HDPE pipe, a metal insert for each end, and a metal compression fitting for the house end. (The water hookup from the town water system already has the same compression fitting on it for the street end)

Here's the question: The plumber said that when I hook up the pipe, I need to crank the nut on the metal compression fitting all the way until it bottoms out, even if it seems too tight. Is this actually a good idea?

Everything I read about compression fittings says that you need to be careful to not over-tighten them, or else they will leak. The plumber also has a questionable reputation in town. Is this guy just trying to scam me into causing a leak and then calling him in to fix it later? Or is he just trying help based on his past experience with these fittings?

I need to know how tight to crank that fitting, because it's going to be buried 10-15 feet deep and will be very hard to fix later.

Thanks for any advice!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-14, 03:46 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Disregard my post. I posted the wrong video.

Old 05-08-14, 05:30 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 84 Votes on 79 Posts
I would go with the 'not overtighten'. Hose clamps are usually tightened to I believe about 40 lbs. I'm not sure about these particular fittings though, you'll have to wait for one of the plumbers to come by.

Old 05-08-14, 06:20 PM
Super Moderator
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts