Good lord, is there some kind of trick to working with PVC?

Old 08-23-14, 05:59 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good lord, is there some kind of trick to working with PVC?

I perfectly squared my 2" pvc pipe, applied the primer and cement, then stuck on the coupling. It maybe got at best 2/3rds the way to the lip of the coupling. Then I had to freakin cut it off and now I have precious little space to work with when I try again (and I might not even have enough). What did I do wrong? Did I not push the coupling on hard enough? It looked like the coupling kept wanting to pop out. I'm so frustrated I want to break my tv lol. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 08-23-14, 06:57 PM
Group Moderator
Received 566 Votes on 519 Posts
I'm not an accomplished plumber but i'd say either not enough glue, too slow, or some of both.

Old 08-24-14, 05:44 AM
B
Received 35 Votes on 32 Posts
I'm also not a pro, but (if I get this right) you only put the glue on the pipe and not in the coupling. If the glue softens the inside of the coupling the edge of the pipe can dig into the sides and prevent full insertion. Timing is another issue, as the longer you wait the softer everything gets, so once the glue is applied get the parts pushed together as quickly as possible. Tighten the lid on the glue later.

If you have enough space I always like to give the parts a little twist back and forth as they go together to better distribute the glue, but be quick and have a reference marh for where you want them to line up.

Bud

Old 08-24-14, 11:10 AM
W
Received 16 Votes on 15 Posts
Glueing PVC Couplings

Push the coupling all the way "home" and hold for 30 seconds. Otherwise, the coupling will creep out. I do not know why.

Old 08-24-14, 02:37 PM
Z
Received 12 Votes on 12 Posts
Hi amateurplumber Ė