Pipe always leaking

Old 11-01-14, 01:04 PM
U
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pipe always leaking

Hi,

I have this pipe leading to the exterior of the house that is always constantly dripping. With winter coming, I've realized that this may become as issue if the temperature gets low enough, not to mention all the wasted water!

I have no experience with plumbing, so I was hoping to get advice here as to what I can do regarding the leak, and perhaps some insight as to what exactly is going on with this plumbing configuration.

The upper pipe heading towards the exterior is the hose spigot. The lower one is the one that is constantly leaking. I think the piece with the blue thing is a pressure release valve?

So I guess these are the questions I would like answered
1. Why do I need a pressure release valve (if that's what it is here) when I have one earlier in the system.
2. Why does the pressure release valve have a pipe to the exterior?
3. What should I do? The inspector (when I purchased the house a few months back) mentioned I can cut the lower pipe and just cap it off. Is this accurate?

Thanks!

http://imgur.com/oiCszwq,7GyOXUY#0
http://imgur.com/oiCszwq,7GyOXUY#1

Old 11-01-14, 07:13 PM
W
Is it leaking above the pressure release valve ? Or down stream of the PRV ?

God bless
Wyr

Old 11-01-14, 07:17 PM
U
Oops, I forgot to specify. It is leaking downstream. It is the "bottom pipe" in both photos

Old 11-01-14, 07:28 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,947 Upvotes on 3,540 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I don't know why you have a pressure relief valve in your house but there must be a good reason. I would check with the neighbors and see if they have one. Maybe there is an occasional high city water pressure issue.

It is the top pipe... to the outside faucet that is leaking. The solder quality in the plumbing there looks questionable.

Name:  hrv.jpg
Views: 231
Size:  25.6 KB

Old 11-01-14, 07:35 PM
U