Propane Piping

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-07-14, 01:25 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Propane Piping

Need some help with propane pipe sizing on a new construction.

In Arizona at about 7,000 ft elevation.

Will be using 2 - 100# propage tanks connected to a Camco Automatic Changeover 2-Stage Propane Regulator for Dual Propane Tanks.

Will be using black pipe throughout but not sure on the sizing. Here is a image of what we are planning:

Name:  propane.jpg
Views: 833
Size:  21.6 KB

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 12-07-14, 02:26 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,294
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure how it works there but any place I've lived you need permits and the gas company or a licensed plumber with a gas license would be designing and sizing this.
And none of them would be counting on 2, 100 LB tanks for what your asking.
More likely an underground at least 275 gal. tank.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-14, 02:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your post, but without getting too far off topic, this is permitted and can be done as DIY and will be inspected and the inspector has already approved the use of 2 100# tanks.

I had planned on using 1" as the main trunk line, and reducing to 3/4", but not sure if that is overkill.

Anyone have any thoughts on the sizing? In addition, can the line be too big?

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-14, 03:13 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
Cant see your pic close enough...

Whats total btu load of all appliances?

What is the farthest appliance from the refulator? ( I would assume the regulator will be near the house somewhere?
 
  #5  
Old 12-07-14, 03:34 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
60,000 BTU BBQ
60,000 BTU Furnace
Not sure on the generator. Probably 30,000 BTU

So call it about 150,000 BTU.

The furnace is about 46 Ft. from the Regulator
BBQ is about 24 ft. from the Regulator
and the Generator stub out is about 51 ft. from the Regulator

Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 12-07-14, 03:44 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
Not sure on the generator. Probably 30,000 BTU
How many HP? .
 
  #7  
Old 12-07-14, 03:44 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
Can you get your pic larger? Or post it to say photobucket, then post link here?
 
  #8  
Old 12-07-14, 03:48 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
I think I see the pic better... LOL. I put on my glasses.... he he
 
  #9  
Old 12-07-14, 03:58 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The generator is 15-HP, but will only be used on propane if I don't have fuel for it. Just want to have the option for it if needed.

LOL yeah, glasses do help! LOL
 
  #10  
Old 12-07-14, 04:16 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
The generator is 15-HP
Its 10000 btu per HP. Thats 150k btu.

10000 watt gen?

So at 1/2 load thats 7.5 hp to get 5000 watts out of gen... 7.5 x 10000 btu = 75000 btu per hour consumption..

You can run that gen 29 hours on one LP 100# tank..


With that said I beleive you will need to enter the home from the regulator with 1" pipe..
 
  #11  
Old 12-07-14, 04:17 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
What is the W.C. say on the regulator?
 
  #12  
Old 12-07-14, 04:27 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
11 inches water column for the regulator

You're close. The generator is a 7000 Watt with peak to 9500.
 
  #13  
Old 12-07-14, 05:58 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
1" from the regulator to the first tee..

1/2" from that tee to the BBQ

1" from that tee to the next tee to furnace and generator.

1/2" form 2nd tee to furnace

3/4" from second tee to generator.


Why not use tract pipe???


You can use their specifier here...

CSST Installation Instructions - Windows, How To Install

After you down load read the instruction on how to use...

http://www.tracpipe.com/customer-con...ev_10-9-07.pdf

I did your calc on paper...( In my head)..

If you download this and try it let me know how it works....
 
  #14  
Old 12-07-14, 05:59 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My 7 KW generator uses 1.47 gal/hr (propane) at full load and 0.82 gal/hr at half load. 23.6 gal in your 100 lb tank. I mounted my (11" wc) regulator at the generator and ran a 10 PSI line from the tank regulator.
 
  #15  
Old 12-07-14, 06:06 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
and 0.82 gal/hr at half load. 23.6 gal in your 100 lb tank.
Yes and the math comes out to 29 hours @ 1/2 load...LOL..

I mounted my (11" wc) regulator at the generator and ran a 10 PSI line from the tank regulator.
Dont know the codes of running high psi in the home. I guess you can run smaller pipe if allowed and put a regulator at every appliance...

Just a not I am not a propane guy. Just using my NG experience to calculate...I am not sure of the protacal/codes on where the regulators can be placed... Normally one before the pipe enters the home...
 
  #16  
Old 12-07-14, 06:20 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
lawrosa... thank you!!

I have updated my image with your recommendations. Is this what you were thinking?

Name:  propane1.jpg
Views: 789
Size:  49.0 KB

I will also check out the tracpipe info. Thanks for providing it.


DMCman.... thanks for calcs. I was unsure on the amount that the generator might use and this helps!!

Really appreciate the insight guys!!! Thanks!!!
 
  #17  
Old 12-07-14, 06:34 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
Is this what you were thinking?
Yes but what size ports does the camco reg/changeover have????
 
  #18  
Old 12-07-14, 06:49 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Inlets are 1/4" SAE inverted flare and outlet is 3/8" NPT female pipe thread.

I suspect I may need to get a large regulator? If you think so, you don't happen to have a recommendation do you?
 
  #19  
Old 12-07-14, 07:25 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
Best off to call LP company and ask... The camco is for campers and short runs IMO. I think its a 2 stage that gets installed for volumes. Dont know what they have for auto switching....
 
  #20  
Old 12-07-14, 07:56 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! Will do!!! Really appreciate your help today!!!!
 
  #21  
Old 12-07-14, 08:17 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
Your welcome. Post back please with any updates. you will help others with your info for sure....................
 
  #22  
Old 12-08-14, 03:43 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Mike, out of curiosity, is the yellow piping you are suggesting the plastic only? I have never run across it, literally, until the other day. I had 811 do a locate for me, and all the utilities were on the front side of the house. EXCEPT for a run of the yellow plastic to the back of the house for a grill installation (.65 diameter). No tracer wires so no locate. My electric trench went right through it. Luckily the customer was unaware it existed and wanted it abandoned anyway, but it was scary hearing the gas leaking. I guess the caution here is install tracer wire as you install the plastic.
 
  #23  
Old 12-08-14, 04:05 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The propane company recommended this regulator:

Marshall Excelsior - MEGR-253

We also talked about the lines and oversized lines will not create an issue. Better to have too big than not enough.

Yeah, if you are doing underground definitely run a tracer wire. They inspect for them here on water, sewer, and propane before you can back fill.

Great forum here and thanks for everyone's help and insight!!!!
 
  #24  
Old 12-08-14, 04:37 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
The propane company recommended this regulator:

Marshall Excelsior - MEGR-253
IDK... Outlets is 3/8" So I am not sure how you will get the volume.

We also talked about the lines and oversized lines will not create an issue. Better to have too big than not enough.

The line size I suggested?


Mike, out of curiosity, is the yellow piping you are suggesting the plastic only?
No. CSST Trac pipe. Steel... For indoor use only...

The line you had under ground was gas poly... Someone failed to install tracer wire...
 
  #25  
Old 12-08-14, 05:07 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
I may have used the wrong chart... I need to look when I get time....

Those sizes I gave you may be wrong...


http://www.regoproducts.com/pdfs/L-5...ans_Manual.pdf
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: