Sink Drain Pipe Broken / Rotted From Wall (with photo)

Old 06-21-15, 08:52 AM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sink Drain Pipe Broken / Rotted From Wall (with photo)

Moved my vanity and discovered this. I am a complete novice but have changed P-Traps and faucets before. I did not encounter this issue though.

How do I replace this?

Thanks in advance for the assistance!

Name:  IMG_20150621_094758.jpg
Views: 12875
Size:  32.0 KB

Old 06-21-15, 10:18 AM
S
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
rotted pipe

Hi, it looks to me like your rotten metal pipe goes into a nut that's on a fitting just inside the wall. The nut looks like it's just sticking out past the wall. I'd try to remove that nut with channel-lock type pliers. If you can get it off, it should be fairly obvious what to do next. My guess would be that the rotten pipe slides in to the pipe in the wall, and the nut pinches a compression seal to seal the pipe and hold it in place. Might be 1.25" or 1.5" pipe- both available at box stores, along with trap, etc. Good luck, Steve

Old 06-21-15, 11:00 AM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I will give it a try.

Here is another image that may make it more clear.
Name:  aMUeiB0.jpg
Views: 8507
Size:  33.7 KB

Old 06-21-15, 12:34 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts