adding a new gas line to black pipe.


  #1  
Old 07-10-15, 11:45 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding a new gas line to black pipe.

I recently had a new furnace installed in my attic, my original furnace in the basement drowned in a flood. The company that installed it were friends of friends who ultimately ripped us off, didn't finish the job and disappeared...but that's another story. My question is; they ran a flexible yellow line directly off the gas meter, up the outside of the house and into the attic. Am I correct in thinking this is not close to being up to code? Even if it is I don't like it and want to redo it the right way. How hard is it to run a T off the main line(1" iron pipe) ? The problem I can see is the line from the meter to the first elbow is about 50'. Here it turns 90 and runs about 10' to a T where the furnace was, then another 20' to the last turn up, to the gas stove above. Wouldn't I have to unscrew all the pipe to put in a T? Not really hard to do other than time consuming. I suppose I could come off the existing T and run it from there but that would involve going back towards the meter 20-30' then up which seems half-assed.. not as much as a flex pipe on the outside but still. I'm not afraid to tackle this myself as I would just shut the main off (or have the gas company do it) Suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 07-10-15, 01:09 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,889
Received 103 Votes on 90 Posts
I'd bet in your area this should have been a permited and inspected job.
No way would I suggest a DIY do this job.
Gas company or a licenced plumber with a gas licence.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-15, 01:33 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,159
Received 69 Votes on 61 Posts
they ran a flexible yellow line directly off the gas meter, up the outside of the house and into the attic. Am I correct in thinking this is not close to being up to code? -
Correct. If its csst it cannot be run outdoors by code...

How hard is it to run a T off the main line(1" iron pipe) ? The problem I can see is the line from the meter to the first elbow is about 50'. Here it turns 90 and runs about 10' to a T where the furnace was, then another 20' to the last turn up, to the gas stove above. Wouldn't I have to unscrew all the pipe to put in a T?
You have to calculate btus and do calculations.

For us here to help you have to provide a sketch off all pipe dia. , distances, and btu of all appliances to the home..

Like this... but will all btu ratings of each appliance
 
  #4  
Old 07-12-15, 07:54 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the input. Ill have to take some measurements.....
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: