Run a new gas line from valve by removing square head plug at "T"?


  #1  
Old 12-15-16, 08:58 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Run a new gas line from valve by removing square head plug at "T"?

I'm putting in a nat gas tankless water heater. One vendor insisted that he will cut a T into the existing line. The other vendor said they must take a new line from the valve due to the length of, and too many appliances, on the existing line. I noticed that the valve has a 3/4" T already, with one port plugged with a square head plug. Is there any reason why they cannot use this for the new line? Seems to me that it would be very simple, to the point where I even I could do ti. Name:  IMG_1959.jpg
Views: 649
Size:  52.8 KB
 
  #2  
Old 12-15-16, 10:49 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Welcome!
You are correct, a tee needs placed on that side of the meter and a tee is already there, begging to be used
I would still let the local contractor decide where they want to place the tee and route the pipe.
There might be things the local inspectors or code like to see.
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-16, 06:03 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thank you for the info and the prompt responce. I can now ask the right questions.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-16, 09:07 PM
steve_gro's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 967
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Gas suppliers put that tee there so that they can feed gas thru it and replace the meter w/o having to enter the premises. At least that's the explanation I was given in gas class. I have seen the device they would use to accomplish this, but I've never seen anyone actually use it in a real-life scenario.

In any event, a tankless water heater will require a LOT of gas Right Now, and it's critical that the piping is sized correctly. Undersized gas piping will almost certainly cause problems.
 
  #5  
Old 12-19-16, 03:18 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Good advice so far. I would go one step further and excavate that meter out of the dirt. You may need to border it with cap block on edge or something, but having it covered is never a good idea.
 
  #6  
Old 12-19-16, 10:14 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,170
Received 433 Upvotes on 385 Posts
Gas suppliers put that tee there so that they can feed gas thru it and replace the meter w/o having to enter the premises.
Thanks Steve, I've always wondered what the tee there was for. Before reading your reply, I was going to state that I've always seen a tee next to the meter, so there must be some reason for it.


As for cutting-in somewhere else, it may be easier for the installer to do that rather than tee off outside and come through the foundation a second time.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: