plumbing

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-09-01, 07:22 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

I am adding a laundry room to my house I need to find the waste line where it crosses under the slab to tie into it. How can I locate the waste line from above?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-10-01, 06:22 AM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have to just start opening up the slab, look at the lay out of all the fixture in your house, there is no real way to say how the plumber layed the pipes in the ground.

That about all I can tell you.

Good Luck
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-01, 06:56 AM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may get lucky that it's in "logical" lines from the stack to the exit point. Try laying out lines from these two points and see if there might be a good place to start.

P2000:
I've never seen or used a scope in a drain line. Is it possible to scope and measure where bends occur to approximate a path?
 
  #4  
Old 05-10-01, 07:29 AM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A camera down the mainline stack will tell where the branch/s enter, and can be located by it.

This could be a option, but this will only tell where it branches tie-in, now maybe if one can camera a kitchen line, if it is 2" and they make a camera for that size line, that would be the better way to locate.
 
  #5  
Old 05-11-01, 04:45 AM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb

Ron:
If there is a clean-out close to where the main exits the house, how about from there backwards?
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-01, 07:24 AM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running back up the line will show the same branch tie-ins as if you was to ran it from the stack.

One thing is a laundry line requires 2" min, so if there is no 2" branch tie-ins seen on the camera then one would need to make a new branch off the mainline, then all one has to do is determine the route from the mainline to the laundry location.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: