toilet won't refill

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-12-01, 06:26 PM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

That's it, the toilet won't refill the tank. I can pur water in the bowl and it flush. I can externally fill the tank and it will flush by using the handle but it won't re-fill. I believe what I have is a floatless ballcock since I don't have an arm with a floating ball at the end.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-12-01, 07:15 PM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Install a new fillvalve, problem solved.
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-01, 10:23 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry toilet won't re-fill

Per your suggestion I purchased a Fluidmaster 400A refill valve and proceeded to unscrew the nut at the bottom of the tank successfully. I was then able to remove the upper part of my old refill valve (a Fluidmaster 200A) but I don't know how to remove the bottom part. It seems that I can unscrew forever but nothing will happen. It seems that my only recourse is to use a hack saw and hope that that works. Is there another way?
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-01, 04:37 PM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cutting it off will do it.
 
  #5  
Old 06-05-01, 07:57 PM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

OK, I mangaged to put the new re-fill valve in. I then purchased a flexible supply line for the toilet. I needed a 4" line but couldn't find one that short so I got a 20" one and looped it. I was able to connect the supply line to the re-fill valve but the other end was way too big. What can I do about this? Can I get a supply line with a smaller size on the other end? Is there a part I can get to serve as an interface? Help!
 
  #6  
Old 06-05-01, 09:07 PM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are three different sizes that will connect to the shut off valve, 3/8" compression, 1/2" compression, or 1/2" IP, you probably got the 1/2" IP type, take it back and get the 3/8" compression type.
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-01, 06:59 PM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unfortunately, I did get a 3/8" compression. It looks like what I need is 1/4" or less. Does this exist and if not, what can I do?
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-01, 07:35 PM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts


You do have a shut off valve that is there now that might look like this one right?
If so does this attach to copper pipe or to a threaded pipe?If so you will need to install the proper size valve to use for that 3/8" comp supply line. If it's connected to copper pipe replace it with a compression stop, if IP this replace with an IP stop.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: