Want to add additional line to my gas meter

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-19, 12:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Want to add additional line to my gas meter

I need to install an additional gas line from the meter to go up the side of the house and run under roof eaves to a garage for about 20 feet. My meter has a tee above the union with a plug in the top of it. This looks like the place to tap in. The line from this will have to reach the new pipe on the house wall. What support will the line need? If the new line along the side of the house is firmly anchored, will that be enough?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-19, 02:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 155
Can you post a picture of what you see there ? How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-19, 05:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Picture of the meter

Picture included.
I thought of changing the elbow on the bottom for a T and going up the wall. It looks like there is not room to rotated it without busting open the wall for clearance.

Name:  meter.JPG
Views: 45
Size:  113.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-22-19 at 05:48 PM. Reason: cropped/resized picture
  #4  
Old 04-22-19, 05:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,954
Likes Received: 155
Doubtful you could spin the elbow. It looks like it's against the foundation.

Back to plan A and the upper tee.
 
  #5  
Old 04-22-19, 11:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 27
Likes Received: 3
That upper tee is for use by the utility -- they can pump gas into it while changing your meter, and not have to re-light pilot lights. I've only ever seen this in gas class. I've never seen seen anyone actually use it for that purpose. I have seen people tie into it, since it's there and easy.
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-19, 07:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Probably do that. Stack another T there and leave plug the top like the original . Thought of inserting a T in the vertical pipe to keep it out of the way, but am leery of disturbing an old line that is not leaking.
 

Last edited by johninav; 04-23-19 at 07:32 AM. Reason: syntax and flow
  #7  
Old 04-28-19, 07:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,427
Likes Received: 8
Before you do this project ...

Is your gas service adequate to handle this new branch?

Is the new branch of sufficient size for the distance to the garage?
 
  #8  
Old 04-29-19, 07:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Either way, it should be. The inspector suggested I go with 3/4" for the new run, which is the size of the meter feed into the house.
This will be for a dryer in the garage. I want to over-engineer the line in case someone wants to relocate a water heater.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes