Leaking water meter?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-19, 07:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Leaking water meter?

Hi folks,

Any thoughts would be great here. I noticed a leak on my basement floor just below the water meter. Then I noticed there's a very small leak coming from one of the corners of the meter. You can see from the pics below it's a very slow leak, but a leak nonetheless. Not even sure what to ask here besides what should my next step be?

Thanks!

Name:  w1.jpg
Views: 82
Size:  64.1 KB

Name:  w2.jpg
Views: 77
Size:  69.0 KB

Name:  w3.JPG
Views: 77
Size:  79.8 KB

Name:  w4.JPG
Views: 77
Size:  69.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-21-19 at 08:11 PM. Reason: resized pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-19, 07:31 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,104
Received 189 Votes on 178 Posts
Well i'd say you need to lookup the brand name of the meter and see if you can find a gasket for it.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-19, 07:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, that’s a good place to start. I’ll check that out. Looks like there’s one shutoff valve before the meter and one after the meter, so “maybe” I could replace the gasket myself.

Silly question, but the meter is my responsibility right, not the water company’s?
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-19, 07:44 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,104
Received 189 Votes on 178 Posts
Correct. I have never seen a water meter that wasn't the homeowner/business owner's problem. The utility's responsibility ends at their shutoff that's buried out by the street.
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-19, 08:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
The water meter is the sole property of the water company. That's why it's sealed.
Call the water company and schedule a replacement.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 08-22-19, 02:19 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,059
Received 119 Votes on 106 Posts
Might not hurt to check with the water company, locally our water company owns the meters and homeowners aren't allowed to mess with them other than hook up to the outlet side. But our meters are next to the road in a meter box.
 
  #7  
Old 08-22-19, 03:28 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,104
Received 189 Votes on 178 Posts
I guess that makes sense, but last time we needed a new line in from the street, we had to pay for that and the new meter. It wasn't free, so it was our problem to pay for it!
 
  #8  
Old 08-22-19, 03:49 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,407
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
Call water Co rules change in different areas.
 
  #9  
Old 08-23-19, 12:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I gave the water company (the town) a call today. They said it's their responsibility. They had someone come over in 15 minutes, replaced the black gasket that's the same size as the bottom of the meter, and we were good to go. Amazing how sometimes (maybe 10% of the time) things are just that easy. He said it was good that I noticed it because it was just going to get worse and worse. So here's my public service announcement that if you haven't looked at your water meter in a while, go take a look!

Thanks for the help everyone!
 
  #10  
Old 08-23-19, 02:34 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,104
Received 189 Votes on 178 Posts
Wow. Nice job!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: