I have a gas pipe question.

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-20, 04:21 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a gas pipe question.

I had a tenant stealing natural gas for over a year and when I went to get the gas service put into my name I was informed that I had to have a pressure test done. I called a company out and they replaced all of the pipes as they were quite old and left a gauge on the end of one of the pipes they ran.

I removed the gauge and hooked up the pipe to the water heater and the furnace and everything works fine but what is the gauge for and why do I have to have another inspection?

The company I was dealing with went under.

Thank you.

Chuck
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-03-20, 04:41 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8,539
Received 174 Votes on 158 Posts
I'm thinking the gas guy installing the new pipes and gage, could not be bothered to remove gage and install a plug. Probably cost the same and twice the labor.
 
  #3  
Old 05-03-20, 04:44 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 25,151
Received 491 Votes on 450 Posts
AFAIK, pressure tests just often have to be inspected.
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-20, 05:23 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8,539
Received 174 Votes on 158 Posts
I have never seen a gas pressure test or gage take place in private home unless it's new build. Not saying it doesn't happen, just never heard of it.
 
  #5  
Old 05-03-20, 07:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,999
Received 830 Votes on 777 Posts
(thread moved to plumbing and piping)

Yes.....pressure tests are done in homes.
Typically the gauge is left on for several days and then inspector checks the pressure on the gauge.
 
  #6  
Old 05-04-20, 05:49 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,239
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Here, the gas company removes the gauge. An appliance must be connected & ready to fire up before they will turn on the gas.
 
  #7  
Old 05-04-20, 09:53 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,124
Received 84 Votes on 79 Posts
In a new install or one that the gas company has doubts about the integrity of the piping, I've seen the pressure gauge installed outside near the meter. The gas company shows up, confirms the pressure reading of 15/20psi (or whatever they require), and they use that as verification to connect the meter.

For an extension, I've had a city inspector require a pressure test on the new section where he read the pressure gauge to confirm it was holding pressure.

I would contact the gas company and ask their requirements. They are usually very specific and they won't connect unless it's ready they way they want it to be.
 
  #8  
Old 05-05-20, 06:09 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you so much for your advice and I'm sorry I can't reply any sooner as I don't have easy internet service.

Again, thank you.

Chuck
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: