Kitchen sink: pipe from basket strainer into P-trap broke

Old 09-17-20, 11:23 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Kitchen sink: pipe from basket strainer into P-trap broke

Hi,

I have a double sink and the left side started leaking, the reason Pipe from Basket Strainer into P-Trap broke off.

Then the right started leaking but it only does it if the sink is at a certain water level, so at this point I called a plumber to get quotes ...

Quotes are to replace both Basket Strainers and the Broken Pipe ($1275, another $950). I'm a novice but I want to attempt this myself as funds need to be diverted to furnace & driveway. This is doable right? I will be heading to Menards later today and want to tackle the immediate issue which is the broken pipe (It fell off yesterday).

I am assuming I can replace just the Pipe today and tackle the basket strainers over the weekend. If its easy enough, I would work on the left side today and right on Friday/Saturday. I've been watching videos but would appreciate feedback / pointers, etc. Thanks!

Pics :

Broken pipe, Left side

Full View

RHS Basket strainer

LHS Basket strainer

Full View, RHS

Full View, LHS ... pipe broke off completely. Highest Priority

Old 09-17-20, 01:16 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,152 Upvotes on 1,927 Posts
It looks like only the small tailpiece from the basket has broken. If you can get a replacement that is super easy to replace. Take the white plastic nut off the bottom of your sink basket and throw away what remains of the old tail piece and put in the new one (don't forget the plastic washer). Then reattach your drain pipe.

Old 09-17-20, 03:14 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
$1275??? Geez, I could fly there and back to fix it and still make money.

This is about as easy as it gets. Pilot Dane told you all you need to know. Go buy yourself a pipe wrench to get the old tailpiece parts off, and buy a new tailpiece. $5 tops.