Water Softener Install


  #1  
Old 10-28-20, 12:28 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Water Softener Install

Hello All-

I have a loop plumbed to receive a water softener. Can anyone tell me what the extra pipe is for?

Thanks in advance..

 
  #2  
Old 10-28-20, 04:15 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,305
Received 489 Votes on 453 Posts
That is new, I would question if it goes to anything because if it did once the loop is cut nothing is going to feed it!

But then again, there it is!!
 
  #3  
Old 10-28-20, 06:59 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,765
Received 190 Votes on 170 Posts
No idea. My only thought is that it's capped off inside the wall and just used as a support. *shrugs*
I think you may have to open the wall a bit and see where it goes. Or just cut it and see what happens (after turning off the water).
 
  #4  
Old 10-29-20, 01:20 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,305
Received 489 Votes on 453 Posts
Im betting a plumber with a sense of humor!
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-21, 10:07 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Michael, were you able to find an answer elsewhere? I am having the same situation, the soft water loop is exactly like yours.

My guess is that itís for drainage, but then again why would it be connected to the loop in the first place? It would have been better just on its own.

Just got a water softener and have spent hours trying to figure it out online without much luck. Donít want to cut the pipes without having everything figured out first 😞
 
  #6  
Old 01-07-21, 03:26 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 966
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
I was always told by our engineering consultants that a water softener should soften all water except outside hose bibs and the kitchen cold side. It would be a very weird way of doing it, but could the 1/2" pipe be going to one of those?? Otherwise, I'm at a loss.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 01-07-21, 09:02 AM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,342
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
I found the information in the link below. Could it be that someone connected a drain into the loop for some strange reason? If that 1/2 pipe is supposed to be the drain then I think at this time it must be plugged up.

Maybe someone expects that when the softener is installed, the loop gets cut and the softener drain gets connected to the 1/2 pipe – and then the drain is unplugged at the outlet wherever that is. That’s assuming it’s the kind of drain with an air-gap or something like that at the other end where it could be capped.

Just got a thought! Could it be someone wanted to ensure that the drain works properly, so they connected it in the loop, tested it, and then plugged it or closed it for now? I don’t know if that makes sense though.

I guess that’s all a little crazy because why wouldn’t someone just cap the drain as in the picture. That is much more straight-forward and I don’t see why that would require any more work.

https://clearwaterarizona.com/loop-vs-full-line/

Just a new thought: if I'm not mistaken the drain line (if that's what it is) MUST have an air gap where it connects to the house drain. I'm pretty sure that's correct for sanitary reasons (I have an air gap on my AN Filter drain). Anyway, I think you should try to follow that pipe and see if it is in fact a drain. Just 2 more cents!!
 

Last edited by zoesdad; 01-07-21 at 10:52 AM.
  #8  
Old 03-05-21, 11:41 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You guys are on the right trail I think. In my new home build, that smaller center line is indeed the drain, and it's pre-plumbed up and over from the garage to an air gap built into the drain for the washing machine in our utility room. I haven't yet confirmed if there is a cutoff valve in that line but it certainly makes sense that the drain has to be obstructed somewhere so the water supply can be operated without an installed water softener system.
 
  #9  
Old 03-08-21, 09:48 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can confirm that the 1/2inch pipe is for drainage. It will likely have an air gap wherever it leads up to (laundary room in my case). I had issues responding to this thread earlier, however I was able to complete the water softener install a day after my initial comment and I have had no issues so far!
 
  #10  
Old 03-08-21, 10:06 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,765
Received 190 Votes on 170 Posts
Glad to hear you figured it out!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: