Priming a Sewage Ejector Pump?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-02, 12:23 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Priming a Sewage Ejector Pump?

For my basement bathroom, I have a Hydromatic SP40 submersible sewage ejector pump. I am in the process of putting a new diaphragm switch on it. However, to remove the cover to the tank, I "broke" the vacuum to the pump out pipe. I have now hooked it back together. But, the pump runs, but it doesn't lift the water up. Does this pump need to be primed? If so, how would I do this?
Thanks for any info.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-02, 09:11 PM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,841
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sump pumps I have ever worked on, never required any priming. They should pump on start up.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-02, 07:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,051
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Priming a Sewage Ejector Pump

Hi,
There should be a small hole (1/8", or so) in the piping between the pump housing and the check valve. This hole will allow air to escape so the pump will not become air-locked (the probable reason your pump is not working). Make sure this hole is clear, or if you replace the pipe you may need to redrill the hole.
Best regards,
Ron Peeks
R.L. Peeks Pump Sales
www.peekspump.com
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: