constantly clogged toilets - new home

Old 02-05-02, 08:19 AM
eklemm
Visiting Guest
constantly clogged toilets - new home

We have a newly constructed home < 2yr. The toilets are 1.6 gpf. The problem is that these toilets constantly clog. This has occurred since the house was built.

The plumber says he ran a snake thru with no blockages.

One tolet is on the send floor the other a 1/2 bath on the first floor.

Any solutions to our constant clogging problem?

Old 02-05-02, 12:49 PM
padudeman
Visiting Guest
Did your plumber check the vent pipe?

Old 02-05-02, 01:00 PM
eklemm
Visiting Guest
...not sure I understand the connection betwwen the two...

Old 02-05-02, 02:27 PM
tellafriend
Visiting Guest
Alot of times people move from older homes with toilets that used a higher GPM. You could flush a whole roll of paper towels with those things! haha! With these new water effecient toilets it's just a matter of adjusting.

Now I've been a plumber for many years and I can honestly say I rarely clog my own toilet. I have a system that some may find uncomfortable to talk about but here it goes...

When using the toilet for #2's I flush at least 3 or 4 times during my "visit". Once or twice, while the toilet is flushing, for the solid waste and another couple of flushes for the "paper work". A) I don't like sitting mere inches away from you know what and B) it puts a strain on the toilet when you try to flush everything at the end.

What I've suggested will take some getting used to. My own family refuses to listen to me and I'm constantly unclogging their toilets.

Since you say your home is only 2 years old I can't say it's roots in the sewer line or a venting problem although the latter may warrant some checking.

I think your probably trying to flush too much at once.

Give it a try and let me know if you see a difference.

Good luck.

Old 02-05-02, 02:28 PM
padudeman
Visiting Guest