Taco recirculator

Old 04-18-02, 05:18 AM
gjtoth
Visiting Guest
Question Taco recirculator

Since it's taking FOREVER for hot water to reach the last faucets in the loop, I've purchased a recirculator. Now, I'm sure this would normally be a simply installation. But, there's one catch: I have a electric tankless water heater. (yeah, yeah -- I know -- I'm gonna be soooo sorry. Well, this is a WHOLE HOUSE TWH and it's great!). I know that a Laing Recirc is installed at the furthest point on the loop. I also know that the Taco (or Grundfos or Armstrong) can be installed at the waterheater. However, with this TWH, would it be installed any differently? If so, how?

Sponsored Links
Old 04-18-02, 06:22 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

I'm not a plumbing pro, so I'm not sure myself, but you can email Laing tech support or customer service here:
http://www.lainginc.com/technical.htm
Good luck!
Mike

Old 04-18-02, 09:39 AM
jlbos83
Visiting Guest
I will be interested in hearing how this comes out. It seems to me that you are trying to adapt an on demand system that is not designed to store hot water into a system that does store hot water. I am curious to hear how the tankless systems responds to the small but continuous demand to keep the water in the piples hot. Will the demand even be enough to trigger it? I have no help to offer, but I am curious!

Old 04-18-02, 11:36 AM
gjtoth
Visiting Guest
From what I've been told by the TWH mfg (Seisco), the TWH "goes into 'sleep' mode when it hits a certain temperature". However, my concern was that it would keep the TWH constantly running thereby defeating one of the two purposes I had it installed to begin with. This can easily be overcome with a timer set to peak use times as one would set a programmable thermostat. Either way, I come out a winner (I think )

Old 04-18-02, 01:40 PM
jlbos83
Visiting Guest