sump pump/ pit

Old 07-08-02, 02:24 PM
skrenze
Visiting Guest
Question sump pump/ pit

is there a standard depth for sump pumps( pit) as mine is 20" deep. i decided to replace my pedestal sump with a flotec sump that has a float attached to it. i was able to trigger the sump to discharge, but it would not or should i say i lost my nerve to fill up the pit more than 6" from the top(as i said i have a 20" deep pit) and the thing still would not trigger on it's own! i finally triggered it and it took over a minute of constant running to empty the pit as all the drains leading into the pump were apparently filled with water! does this sound like a bad pump, or is my pit too deep, or what? also what type of sump should i attempt to install in place of as my pedestal is really old. i saw somwe with a cup float next to it. how are these?

thanks
skrenze

Sponsored Links
Old 07-08-02, 02:41 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm no expert on sump pumps, but I have a submerged type pump which will pump when the water reaches a couple of inches above the top of the pump, and will stop when there are 2" of water in the pit. I believe my pit is 20", it's ony of those plastic things you buy at Home Depot, and the pump sits in the bottom. It has one of those "attached" switches, and it will basically turn on when the water will push it a bit over horizontal.

Old 07-08-02, 03:10 PM
skrenze
Visiting Guest
trinitro:
your pump sounds like the one that i was describing and i also purchased this at home depot. you state that yours turns on a couple of inches over the pump, i measured mine at 6" over the pump and no turn on! i really think i have a bad float but am leary about buying the same brand?
thanks
skrenze

Old 07-09-02, 07:09 AM
T