Tropical Fish in Pond?

Old 02-23-04, 02:09 PM
Tropical Fish in Pond?

In addition to my goldfish, I have had plecostemus over the summer for algae control and swordtails which reproduced well. I was wondering if anyone else has kept tropicals in their pond over summer and if so, did they reproduce?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-23-04, 04:36 PM
Hi schiejr

It would probably help if you could tell us where you are or at least what your climate extremes are.

I'm the last one to ask about tropical fish - they won't survive here except in an indoor and heated aquarium, so hopefully someone from warmer climes could help.

I do know that goldfish will overwinter in our freezing climate as long as the H2O stays liquid and there is enough oxygenation and gas exchange in the water to keep the fish from suffocating

Hope someone here can give you some pointers on the tropicals

Howie

Old 02-23-04, 05:47 PM
Thanks for the reply howiek. I have been doing aquariums for 25 years so it is not so much knowing about the fish but being curious what other folks have had experience with in their ponds, especially with breeding. I have heard rainbows, barbs, danios and cichlids and thought I would start a thread and see if anyone had personal successes with certain species they were willing to share. Compared to raising them in an aquarium, the fish usually grow faster and have better color due to the natural foods available in the pond.

I was going to try some turquoise rainbows this summer in addition to the swordtails and aquarium plants I move outside. I am in zone 4/5 and usually have to wait until June before the water gets warm enough, although the swordtails surprised me and survived some long periods of sixties and some dips into fifties over night. My plecostemus did alright into the forties until I finally caught him in the fall, having grown from three inches to nine.

Old 02-24-04, 12:40 PM
Hi again